Board of Directors

The UND Alumni Association & Foundation’s Board of Directors is composed of true philanthropists who’ve given their time, talent, and treasure to the University of North Dakota. They are elected every three years and serve maximum three-year terms. 

The Board meets twice a year to provide strategic direction and governance to the 501(c)(3), nonprofit organization. Task forces within the board, based on professional expertise, provide ongoing advisement.

The dedication of the 2022-23 UND Alumni Association & Foundation Board of Directors to UND is greatly appreciated by the alumni family and also the administration, faculty and students.

Board Chair

Board Vice Chair

John Gray

John Gray, M.D., '87
Kidney Specialists of Minnesota
Robbinsdale, Minn.

Jim Poolman

Jim Poolman, '92
Jim Poolman Consulting, Inc.

Board Members


Darla Adams

Darla (Kleven) Adams, '84, '95, '07 
Grand Forks

Troy Bader

Troy Bader, '85
President & CEO
International Dairy Queen Corp.
Chanhassen, Minn.

Lisa Barnes

Lisa (Schmitz) Barnes, '88
Retired Director of Engineering
Honeywell Aerospace Engineering Technology
Glendale, Ariz.

Kelly Caruso

Kelly (Keeler) Caruso, '91
Former CEO
Minneapolis, Minn.

Scott Fredericksen

Scott Fredericksen, '74
Managing Partner
Foley & Lardner, LLP
Washington, D.C.

Angie Freeman

Angie (Hovland) Freeman, '91
Chief Human Resources Officer
CH Robinson Worldwide
Eden Prairie, Minn.

Randy Gershman

Randy Gershman, '84
Financial Advisor
Edward Jones Investments
Marshfield, Wisc.


Mike Hamerlik

Mike Hamerlik, '84, '88
Wisconsin Physicians Service Insurance Corporation
Fitchburg, Wisc. 


Marten Hoekstra

Marten Hoekstra, ’82
Former CEO, UBS Wealth Management Americas
Fargo, N.D. 


Jonathan Holth

Jonathan Holth
Managing Director
Office of Recovery Reinvented,
State of North Dakota
Grand Forks, N.D.


Michael LeBeau

Dr. Michael LeBeau, '02
Sanford Health
Bismarck, N.D.

Rick Lee
Rick Lee, '78
Retired Partner
Eide Bailly
Bismarck, N.D.

Chuck MacFarlane
Chuck MacFarlane, '87

Otter Tail Corporation
Fergus Falls, Minn.

Karen (Borlaug) Phillips
Karen (Borlaug) Phillips, '77

Former Vice President of Public & Government Affairs, CN
Retired President, Policy & Advocacy Associates
Alexandria, Va.

Lara Prozinski
Lara (Olsen) Prozinski, '90

Teacher, Devils Lake Public Schools
Devils Lake Public Schools Development Fund Coordinator
Devils Lake, N.D.

Jodi Rolland

Jodi Thompson Rolland, '92
Divisional Director of the Greater West Division
JP Morgan Chase Bank, NA
McKinney, Texas

Dave St. Peter
Dave St. Peter, '89

Minnesota Twins
Chanhassen, Minn.

Pat Sogard
Pat Sogard, '82, '86
Chairman of the Board
American State Bank & Trust, Co.
Williston, N.D.

Karen Thingelstad

Karen (Dean) McLennan, '89
Grand Forks, N.D.

Kathryn Uhrich
Kathryn Uhrich, '86

Dean, College of Agricultural & Natural Sciences
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, Calif.

Chad Wachter2022
Chad Wachter

President & CEO
Investcore, Inc.
Bismarck, N.D.


Ex-Officio Members


Andrew ArmacostAndrew Armacost
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

Joshua WynneJoshua Wynne, M.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine & Health Sciences
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

Karla Mongeon-StewartKarla Mongeon-Stewart
Vice President for Finance and Operations/COO
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

Eric LinkEric Link
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks

DeAnna Carlson ZinkDeAnna Carlson Zink '86
UND Alumni Association & Foundation
Grand Forks
Nancy PedersonNancy Pederson '90
Vice President of Finance
UND Alumni Association & Foundation
Grand Forks

Alumni Association & Foundation Committee Leadership

Alumni Relations and Development Committee Chair - Jonathan Holth
Audit Committee Chair - Mike Hamerlik
Finance Committee Chair - Chad Wachter
Recruitment and Governance Committee Chair - Karen Phillips
Investment Committee Chair - Marten Hoekstra